Week Eleven: Artist Interview – Portrait of Victor

For this week’s art piece, I chose “Portrait of Victor.” I thought this was on of the better charcoal drawings by Romina Del Castillo. Everything thing from his facial features to the bends and wrinkles in the blanket he is sitting on. Having drawn people, myself, I understand how difficult it can be to draw in perspective. I have a very difficult time drawing hands and arms in perspective. I usually make the forearms look too fat or make the hand, that is reaching out, look like it is completely separate from the model’s body. I think Romina did a great job however. I spent a lot of time looking at this to try and see what techniques I could use myself, in order to better my drawings. What I also discovered is that shading has a large role in this. Shading reveals the bend in the arm and the angle at which it is approaching the viewer. The other thing I had empathy for in this picture is the hands. I have a very difficult time drawing hands and usually cover them up in my drawings or don’t even draw them, but rather have the picture fade. This has shown me how simple it can be to draw hands as long as I keep them in proportion to the rest of the body.

IMG_5066.JPG

Leave a Reply

