Week 10: Artist Interview – Haneul Park

This week’s art piece caught me a bit off guard. From the corner of my eye, I thought there was a actual pig just chilling in the dark room. I then realized it was glowing, which pigs don’t do. I chose to elaborate on this art piece because, while standing there staring at it, I could make no meaning out of it. It wasn’t until I got home that I thought to compare it to Lord of the Flies by William Golding. The Sow’s head in this book represents the truly evil potentials man can attain. In Park’s artwork of the pig, I saw it as a more modern depiction of “The Lord of the Flies.” The neon themed coloring is symbolic of the false idols we worship today, where they all seem to have some form of neon coloring. When not kept to moderation, the parties, celebrities, and material items we worship will twist and break our morals. If we keep worshipping the sow, it will take advantage and bring out the evils of mankind. In the end, I got much more out of this art piece than I had expected.

IMG_5013.JPG

Leave a Reply

