Week Nine: Activity – Everyone is Invited…

This week I saw, for the first time, an art piece referencing bible verses. The piece read “Everyone is invited…and there is still room” followed by the scripture, Luke 14: 15-24. After reading the scripture from the app on my phone, the quote was easily understandable. The last verse reads, “For I say unto you, that none of those men which were bidden shall taste of my supper.” This parable and artwork, I believe, represent Christ’s open arms. Christ invites all to come unto his gospel yet “great multitudes” choose not to. Others come up with excuses saying, “I have bought a piece of ground, and I must needs go and see it..” or “I have bought five yoke of oxen, and I go to prove them.” The drawing itself is a modern depiction of this scripture. The quote “hella” and the hangloose hand-sign depict modern society and our lack religious obedience. In the end, though everyone is invited, only few will choose to go.

IMG_4976.JPG

Leave a Reply

