Week Four: Plaster Casting – My Hand

This week’s activity was plaster casting. I went with two of my friends, Adriana Macias, and Christopher Fisher. I brought a Home Depot bucket from home and we drove in my Jeep down beach boulevard. We stopped by The Home Depot on the way to pick up the plaster which was a $6.78, just enough for two hands. We put our hand in at the same time as Chris packed it in tightly with wet sand. Trying to slide one’s hand out without crumbling the structure was one of the more difficult parts of this project. Eventually we both got our hands out without ruining the structure too much–or so we thought. After retrieving water and mixing the plaster, I realized then I had switched the measurements. Instead of putting 1/3 water, 2/3 plaster, I mixed 2/3 water and 1/3 plaster. By then it was too late to fix, so we went ahead and poured the mixture in our hands. Because there was so much plaster left over it wasn’t difficult figuring out what to do to occupy 30 minutes. We made different shapes: a middle finger (quite inappropriate), the letter “C” and a third hand. When our hands dried finally, it seemed as though the insides kept sinking and the sculpture itself felt like a chocolate Easter bunny. Luckily I didn’t break it. In the end I found this project to be cooler than expected. I was impressed with the detail of the mold where dirt didn’t collapse. In the picture, you can clearly see the bones on the back of my hand leading to the knuckles which are quite distinct.

IMG_4645.JPG

Leave a Reply

